BWS 11.07.18: Arielle Twist

Arielle

Arielle Twist is a writer and sex educator from George Gordon First Nation, Saskatchewan, currently living in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She is a Cree, Two-Spirit, trans femme supernova writing to reclaim and harness ancestral magic and memories.

Within her first year of pursuing writing she has been able to attend Naked Heart, the largest LGBTQ literary festival in the world and has attended a residency at Banff Centre for the Arts and Creativity. She has work published/forthcoming with Them, Canadian Art, This Magazine, and Prism International. Her debut collection of poetry ‘Disintegrate/Dissociate’ is forthcoming Spring 2019 with Arsenal Pulp Press.

Ahead of her July 11th appearance, Arielle shares three poems with us. They are the highlights of her time in Banff. The first poem C(um) Etiquette was brought to life after a critique that she used the word cum & cock a lot in her poetry and Chords is about the displacement she feels living by the ocean.

C(um) Etiquette

Some days I leave my window open

Some days it’s to                    air out smells like you

Some days it is to lure you in with the scent of me

I don’t know how to navigate this etiquette

of cumming                                                   and going

the ways we invite strange bodies into our lives

expecting      something     different

than this godless fucking

somedays I wish you would tear me apart

somedays I want                        to feel nothing

but you,              moving inside of me.

some                         days

I cum                         and you go

 

 – don’t come back

 

Chords

I live in a city

where you can hear

whales sing siren songs

 

reverberating

off lonely chords.

songs I will sing back

in a harbor

 

familiar with the brown

of the wood

resembling cracks of

my own skin.

 

I can read them like

bottoms of my rough

NDN feet.

 

They say take me home.

The mountains sing too.

 

Arielle Twist visits Brockton Writers Series on Wednesday, July 11, 2018 in our new home, Glad Day Bookshop, 499 Church Street, Toronto, at 6:30pm (PWYC) alongside Vanessa McGowan, Chang Liu, Kiley May, and guest speaker Scott Fraser who will share his thoughts about, “Understanding Acquisitions: What Authors Should Consider When Pitching Their Book.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Writers & Performers

Leave a comment